Poetry that rhymes

Over the last few weeks, there have been more and more discussions in poetry related forums I participate in over whether poems should rhyme and if that’s passe.

I’m not a huge fan of poetry that has end-rhyme only. Mostly, I think, because sometimes it sounds too “kiddy” or repetitive. I think rhyming poems get ignored or looked down on because some poets force it. Meaning, they put a word at the end of the line for the sole purpose of continuing a rhyme pattern. It’s very difficult to rhyme and make it sound like natural speech.

Do you like rhyming poetry? Do you think rhyming is passe?

8 thoughts on “Poetry that rhymes

  1. I wrote my first poem in the beginning of my 4th grade yr of school for and english assignment. It was a short thing about a buttercup. At that point, I had always been taught that poems all had to be rhymey. Then I moved to a different school that year, and in the library I found a poetry book titled “They Don’t Always Have To Rhyme”. Changed my life and my appreciation for they beauty of words. My various writing styles in my poetry throughout my life shows that, and I’ve always felt that THAT is one of the reasons poetry and prose are such amazing ways to connect to everyone. It’s powerful, spiritual and in a way, quite magical. šŸ™‚

    • Awesome! I do love the freedom of self-expression in poetry. Poets should write whatever they want. I think though that we should be careful that the “rules” we follow don’t interfere with actually making our point.

  2. I think it depends on what the poet can do with their words. I think the best poetry of today is of the unrhymed kind. That being said…I think rhyming poetry has its place and yes it is mostly in cute, kiddy type stuff. That does not mean it can’t be good. Seriously, a good Dr. Seuss never gets old.

  3. Outside the rare Moonlight in Vermont, just about every goo lyric relies on end-rhyme, and nobody gives it any serious debate. Yet to some, poetry isn’t modern and free unless it leaves its minstrel roots so far behind that any sound sense at all is crime.

    Forced rhyme is the sin. But only like how it would be a sin to force a rose to have the same symmetry as the wind. But do we love the wind so much that we force the rose to be as wild and “free”? Both symmetry and asymmetry are natural. The only issue should be whether the wrong word is chosen, whether the choice is made in order to rhyme or in order to avoid rhyme.

    Personally, I like how a close friend of mine saw it. She viewed sound rhymes like sisters and sight rhymes like brothers, near rhymes like cousins, slant rhymes and other variants as more distant relatives, and so on . . . but in a global sense, all related in some way, all one family. In her vision, all of her poems had rhyme, even when it was not obvious to the eye or ear, but plain to the heart every single time.

    • That “goo” was meant to be “good”
      except losing things is what I do
      best, so more often than I should,
      the one thing not good is my goo.

    • That’s a good point, Maggie. I totally agree. Music has end-rhymes all the time and we don’t judge it harshly for that. Although, maybe we would if we were just reading the lyrics as words without the sound around them. Thanks for sharing what your friend said. That’s a pretty good way to describe how the sounds “relate” to each other. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

