Lovesong for Naomi v2

The curve of her cheek,
like goosedown against mine.
A pillow for lips to rest.

(However far away…
(However long I stay…

Her hands twirl the hair at my nape,
hesitant caresses smooth strays, standing on end.
A gentle nibble on shoulder and the smile
that begins in her feet bubbles and escapes.

Whatever words I say…)
(I will always love you.)

The faint scent of milk lingers on honey skin.
And though sticky fingers have stolen my glasses,
I still see her, through peek-a-boos
while we sway to a whispered lullaby.

(I will always love you.)

 


Leave a Reply

