Lovesong for Naomi


The pillowy curve of her cheek, like goosedown against mine.
The faint scent of milk on the underside of her chin and skin
the color of honey

(However far away…
However long I stay…
Whatever words I say…)

Her eyes, too serious in her small face
begin to sparkle, the smile that begins in her feet
wiggles up to escape in a happy little giggle

Sticky fingers have stolen my glasses
Still I see her as we sway to a whispered lullaby
(I will always love you.)

*side note: The Cure version of this song will be forever awesome but I luuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrvvvvvvvvvvvve Adele’s cover*

One thought on “Lovesong for Naomi

Leave a Reply

