Revision: Acid

One of my Indie Ink Challenges was the prompt, “I dropped acid.” I was able to write something in time but I wasn’t satisfied so I kept tweaking at it. This is the revision and I’m much happier with it.

Acid

I dropped acid like I dropped water and

I dropped to the floor to drown in a sea of hallucinations

I drowned in Van Gogh and poetic abstraction

I drowned in “Blue in Green” as the saxophone

Explored the emotions evoked by a sound

Explored the effect an eight quarter note on my soul

And I never knew transcendence opened in G flat

And I never dropped water.

And I never dropped acid.

Leave a Reply

