Why I write…

I write because I observe, and having observed, wish to offer commentary. I write because I want a challenge; to fit my words together like the pieces of a jigsaw puzzle. Because the act of describing allows me to repeat an experience. To savor that experience, to form a new impression. To record a memory and at some point, find it again, newly colored by who I’ve become in the meantime.

I’ve been really down lately. But I think I’m finally starting to come out of the fog. Life can be strange, and hard, and unexpected but it is also beautiful, and all the more precious because it is not infinite.   

 

Leave a Reply

