Favorite Friday: “One Inch Tall” by Shel Silverstein

I love Shel Silverstein’s poetry. He had a wit and whimsy to his writing that was just amazing. I like this poem because it reminds me to look at the world from more than just my own perspective. It reminds me to play and to imagine. It reminds me that there is still joy, still something to smile about, and life doesn’t always have to be solemn. Even if I’m surrounded by nothing but pain and sorrow, I can still imagine anything I want to. Even if I happen to want to imagine that I am only one inch tall.

One Inch Tall by Shel Silverstein

 If you were only one inch tall, you’d ride a worm to school.
The teardrop of a crying ant would be your swimming pool.
A crumb of cake would be a feast
And last you seven days at least,
A flea would be a frightening beast
If you were one inch tall.

If you were only one inch tall, you’d walk beneath the door,
And it would take about a month to get down to the store.
A bit of fluff would be your bed,
You’d swing upon a spider’s thread,
And wear a thimble on your head
If you were one inch tall.

You’d surf across the kitchen sink upon a stick of gum.
You couldn’t hug your mama, you’d just have to hug her thumb.
You’d run from people’s feet in fright,
To move a pen would take all night,
(This poem took fourteen years to write–
‘Cause I’m just one inch tall).

Leave a Reply

