Construction

As a child
            (Or so you tell me)
You were a builder
of lego creation, blocks
the work of weeks
changing the landscape of the space
mother told you was your own.

(Has that changed?)

I became the castle
familiar contours and passageways
And not so secret rooms
with creaky steps
But the dragon in the moat
is undisturbed by your approach.

Your critical eye wanders my face
You will build me, block by block
Strengthen my defenses
                     (weak points… so glaringly obvious)

And I
        will build you. Block by block.
        (see your weak points too…)
        change the landscape of the space I call my
        own.

And maybe, one day… we’ll find that we were
always better together, than we are alone.

Leave a Reply

