Mechanics Monday: Mirrored Refrain

Mirrored Refrain is a contemporary poetic style constructed by a poet named Stephanie Repnyek.

There are three or more 4 line stanzas (quatrains) where two lines alternate to become the “mirrored refrain”.  There is no set meter, so have fun with it. The rhyme scheme is:

xaBA, xbAB, xaBA, xbAB… etc.

The (x) stands for lines that do not rhyme. Capital (A) and (B) are the refrain.

Here’s an example written by Stephanie Repnyek. The first four stanzas are labeled.

Child of His Earth

Spirits moving passionately (x)
Soaring with the wind… (a)
I am a child of the Earth, (B)
From the beginning to the end. (A)

God paints his canvas around me (x)
I come alive…a new rebirth (b)
From the beginning to the end (A)
I am a child of the Earth. (B)

Teardrops fall while giving thanks (x)
I hear the voices of the wind (a)
I am a child of the Earth, (B)
From the beginning to the end. (A)

When I’m lonely and blue… (x)
His touch shows me my worth (b)
From the beginning to the end, (A)
I am a child of the Earth. (B)

My sorrows are replaced with happiness
A touch of love is what He gives
I am a child of the Earth,
From the beginning to the end.

I thank Him for the blessings he sends
In my life, He is always first
From the beginning to the end,
I am a child of the Earth.

Appreciating all that surrounds me
I give thanks to God…it’s all for him
I am a child of the Earth,
From the beginning to the end.

His breath of wind eases my fear
He makes me strong when times are tough
From the beginning to the end,
I am a child of the Earth.

Spirits moving passionately
Soaring with the wind…
I am a child of the Earth,
From the beginning to the end.

The world may crumble and fall
But my spirit will live through His love
From the beginning to the end,
I am a child of the Earth.

I want to be remembered for my spirit
It’s all for God…he made me who I am
I am a child of His Earth,
From the beginning to the end.

Copyright © 2003 Stephanie Repnyek

Leave a Reply

