Sister: A villanelle

My little sister has a wife
Some say this is a mortal sin,
But she is captain of her life.

Her short time consumed by pain, strife.
And ere I see her smile again,
my little sister has a wife.

They rant, they rave, scream its not right.
Sweet sister, this nothing can end.
But she is the captain of her life.

What to say? Speculation rife.
Dare I deny the right to love when
my little sister has a wife?

Judgemental words pierce like a knife,
fragile joy. Something new begin.
But she is the captain of her life.

I’ll love you always, not think twice.
And call me should you need a friend.
My little sister has a wife.
Some say this is a mortal sin.

Leave a Reply

