State of the Blog address :)

The president gives a state of the union address so if you’ve ever bothered to listen to one, you get the general idea.

This blog is fairly new (less than 6mos old) and constantly evolving according to my random whims. I’m truly enjoying writing it and I feel that it is high on my list of best things I’ve ever done for myself.  Some of the things I’ve felt it was important to do here is not only post some of the things I’ve written but also to showcase some of my favorite poems and poets and to make a point to explain styles of poetry in a way that is as simple and easily understood as possible.

Something I’d like to start doing in the future is streamlining my posting process. So I’m going to start 3 weekly features.

  • Mechanics Monday: I’d like to use Monday as a specific day for my how-to posts.
  • Wandering Wednesday: A new feature. Every Wednesday,  I’m going to search for poetry blogs and/or articles and post my most interesting findings.

Last but not least!

  • Favorites Friday: I already post my favorite poems fairly regularly. But I would like to have a specific day for it instead of it just being so random.

My hope is that not only will these things give my blog more organization and consistency but it’ll also take some of the strain of trying to post a poem everyday.  To be honest, I write almost everyday but sometimes I run into periods of time where everything is garbage. I’m pretty sure I’m not alone in that. 😀

3 thoughts on “State of the Blog address :)

  1. I wish I had time to be that organised (typing anything that comes into my head makes it very hard to categorise). I’d love to see more of your writing that isn’t poetry. 🙂

    • lol, I try to be very organized about things. It doesnt always work out though. I’ve been kind of avoiding doing essays, reviews, and things of that sort. And prose is definitely a weakness of mine but they say practice makes perfect right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

