100 word challenge: Examine

One of my friends from NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month), writes a blog called Velvet Verbosity. She hosts a challenge weekly called the 100 words challenge. The challenge is to write 100 words about the prompt. It seemed like alot of fun so I decided to participate! πŸ™‚ And of course, this wouldn’t be Poetik Line Sense if I didn’t respond in verse (lol) but that isn’t required.

Examine

Asleep, oblivious to my examination
She breathes softly against my side.
Lashes fanned against her slumber pinkened cheeks
Midnight fringe against skin; gold, rose, and cream.
Her warm weight is a comfort in the cool of an unfamiliar room.
Repose of the innocent, her lips curve
Sweet as warm cocoa, and the howls of a newborn
screaming her way into life,
She dreams candy dreams.
I remember the first time I saw her
Waking to see eyes of liquid ink, her story waiting to be written.
With one look, I loved her.
Oblivious to examination, she sleeps against my side.

8 thoughts on “100 word challenge: Examine

    • Rammi, you might have a talent for it πŸ™‚ It takes a long time to get good at anything artistic, occasional bursts of genius and inspiration aside.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I did have to struggle a little bit with my wording but I did myself a favor by writing about my little girl. I have endless words about her lol.

Leave a Reply

