If I could

Artist: William Adolphe Bouguereau

Artist: William Adolphe Bouguereau

Dedicated to my sisters 

 

If I could remake the world for you,

I wouldn’t.

If I could protect you from hate, pain, and tears

Still, I wouldnt.

 

It is only by falling that we know what it means to stand

 Only by crying, learn the value of a smile

When your enemies stand against you,

Real friends shine true

Diamonds on a beach of glass rocks.

 

If I could, I would teach you every lesson

Beaten into my bones and engraved in every scar.

But how could you understand

Unless you had scars of your own?

 

If you have no concept of hot,

How can I warn you away from a burn?

 

If I could love you always

Be the hand you hold,

When lightning and thunder chase you from sleep

And monsters and skeletons peek

From your closet doors,

If I could cheer your every victory

Comfort you in defeat,

I would.

And I will.

Leave a Reply

