Write a Poem

image courtesy of homepages.tesco.net Artist: Alfred Walter Bayes

image courtesy of homepages.tesco.net Artist: Alfred Walter Bayes

I wanted to write a poem today
I wanted this poem to be the best
That I’d ever written
I wanted to say everything
That was on my mind
And I wanted to say it
Poetically.

I wanted it to be transcendental
But staring at a blank page
The lines didnt spring to mind
Didn’t, like water, pour from my fingertips
Letters of ink splash impressionism
Becoming art not because of what I said
But how.

I wanted to write a poem
That made grown men weep
Because you know,
It’s just that amazing
And I think it should’ve been a poem
That forever from now
Kids in english class would be
Listening to,
Trying not to fall asleep
Except for that one kid
Who really wants to write a poem
Just like me.

That one kid
Who fills notebooks
As philosophies of realities
And perspectives
Build themselves into mind and heart.

I wanted to write a poem today.
But I think I’ll try again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

