The Moment

The Moment

My palms were sweaty
Breathing harsh, the lights beat
Down my spine, tribal rhythm
And there is no tomorrow
I tell myself
All that exists is now
Eyes I feel but cannot see
Piercing
Questioning
Demanding all I have to give
And slightly beyond
In this moment,
I am theirs.

The pianist coaxes notes to
Soar free and I…
And I…
Heard the summer breeze singing
And my heart knew
It was coming.

Quarter and eighth notes slid
Over and around my skin
The steady thump of my pulse
Keeping a
right
now
time signature

The moment I feared
The moment I craved.
This moment was mine.
So
Soul in mouth,
I sang.

Leave a Reply

