How to: Nonet

La Lecon Difficule~ Painting by William-Adolphe Bouguereau

La Lecon Difficule~ Painting by William-Adolphe Bouguereau

How to: Nonet

A nonet is a type of poem that has nine lines and a very interesting structure. The first line has 9 syllables, the second 8 syllables, the third 7 syllables until the ninth line which has one syllable. Like a sonnet, it is written in iambic meter, which means that every other syllable is emphasized. Nonets can be written about any subject and rhyming is optional.

The word nonet is also found in classical music and refers to a composition that requires nine musicians to play it.

An example of a nonet:

The Soul Takes Flight (Nonet)

 for Bo

 Twenty-one grams weighs the soul tonight,

Death weight released-travel in flight

 True love waits to reunite…

 Embracing soul with sight,

 Raw truth, gifted light.

Yes; life endures

Now secure,

 Insured,

 Pure…

 By: Piera Hubbard Hall

 The poem was originally posted here.

My attempt:

Pure Angel

for Karina

Smile, angelic in it’s purity

 Her voice, gentle as summer breeze

 Sweet innocence lies in eyes

 Brown, earth colored iris

Gift from God to me.

Raison d’etre

 I exist

To love

 her.

I actually found this mildly difficult. I am not terribly fond of iambic meter. Other than that, I enjoyed the challenge of the structuring. 🙂

2 thoughts on “How to: Nonet

    • Thank you. I love writing about my baby. lol, she’s just too cute. And the first time I saw a nonet, I thought it was pretty cool. I love how poetry is like condensed storytelling and usually there’s alot going on under the surface. I’m having alot of fun experimenting with new styles.

Leave a Reply

