The Journey

I studied diligently
Plodding through a sea
Climbing over mountains
Books and words.
Tiring to body and soul
I just couldn’t travel far enough
to escape them.
Books and words
Striking me like a hurricane
Bursting the levies
Until I had no choice but to
Absorb it or perish

I will absorb
I will learn the rules
And then I will break them.
For rebellion without knowledge
Is only immature perversity
A chainsaw in surgery.
Rebellion with it
Gains shades of meaning
The scalpel in the hands
of a master.

2 thoughts on “The Journey

Leave a Reply

