Write what you see, not what you know.

Image courtesy of www.about.com

Image courtesy of http://www.about.com

Hello everyone. I’m having issues right now. Writer’s block! I truly hate it when I get stuck like this. I have a list of ideas of stuff to write about but nothing has me interested at all. I watched the news, got a little information about the world outside of my happy bubble and I decided to try to weigh in on the Iranian election issue. But I’m finding it incredibly difficult to do so. One problem is that I don’t have much of an opinion about it. I think it’s terrible that people are dying in the streets and that the press is so restricted in that country but I’m not emotionally involved in any way. I am unable to relate or feel truly connected to the issue. I think maybe this topic isn’t for me.

As I’ve been thinking about this, I realized that I have this idea that a poet is supposed to be able to write about anything. I guess to an extent, they do. But I think in most art, magic happens when you write/draw/sing about what you see, instead of what you know. The unique perspective that you have shines through and it reaches out to people. Sometimes we get so caught up in our ideas of something that we don’t pay enough attention to what is really there.

6 thoughts on “Write what you see, not what you know.

  1. Yes. I have tried that particular method once, and it worked very well. Another absolutely ludicrous type of “home remedy” could be to rearrange your furniture. However, perhaps the first one would be more plausible.

    • Actually, I rearranged my furniture yesterday lol. I had to baby-proof everything. Rearranging stuff helps me clear my head. 🙂 But mindwriting is a good idea. Thank you. I’ll have to get to it and see what I come up with.

Leave a Reply

