The Wedding

Image courtesy of www.candicewhite.com

Image courtesy of http://www.candicewhite.com

The Wedding

The day I married you
Is one of my happiest days
A bustling monday morning, we snuck
Quietly away
Not a flower in sight
Or even cake.

You wore baggy jeans
and an overly large T-shirt
I, in the only dress I owned
Which, of course,
Was black.

We got lost on the way to the courthouse
The hundred dollars I borrowed in your pocket
Which my friend gave me with the stipulation
That our first daughter would be named Mariah.
(Please forgive me, Mariah)

We stood in the judge’s office
Before a desk like naughty children
Unable to speak our vows with a straight face
And when you took my hands and met my kiss
The judge smiled.

We returned home
Man and wife
But the story doesnt end there.
We returned home
Man and wife
I put on my uniform
And reported for duty.

One thought on “The Wedding

Leave a Reply

