Challenge: Sonnet

Courtesy of StantonSheetMusic.wordpress.com

Courtesy of StantonSheetMusic.wordpress.com

I have set a series of a challenges for myself. Today’s challenge was to write a shakespearean sonnet, in iambic pentameter. For those who have no clue what that means (until yesterday, that included me lol), a shakespearean sonnet is 14 lines long, has a rhyme pattern of ABABCDCDEFEFGG, and is in Iambic pentameter. Iambic pentameter describes the pattern of emphasis on each word. *Example* Shakespeare’s Sonnet 18: “Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?” Basically, every other syllable has emphasis. I’m much more used to free-verse so the restriction in this was killer!

But here’s my sonnet offering. If I did it wrong, please let me know :).

Morning

I’d like to compare you to a morning
But you are not so peaceful or so hushed
Resting ends where day’s ritual forming
Morning ends in blazing speed, rushed
Sometime cold for sunlight weary battles cloud
Sometime bright sun’s glory unhindered shine
Sometime hours unexperienced, lost in shroud
of death-like repose; slumber bound supine.
But you grant me joy, refreshed in love made
Born in the light of a sunrise, drunken
On heady fumes at the sight of love’s smile, fade
Bruises history left, whole banish broken
Morning cannot compare, for long as soul,
Life, breath remain, little matter time’s hold

Leave a Reply

