Mindset

www.allposters.com

Praying Hands by Grant

I’ve been reading a lot of blogs and participating in various forums, generally related to poetry but not always. I’ve talked to friends and family about it. It seems to be really important issue for a lot of people. There are a good number of people who have lost faith in God and religion. They feel like faith makes no sense, that it crumbles like ash under the weight of intellect and reason. They feel betrayed, like God was never there for them so why should they believe in Him. I find it sad. I have my own doubts about God and religion sometimes but I’ve decided to hold on to my faith.

Let’s examine this for a second. My faith is christianity so I’ll be primarily referring to that. Do I lose anything by trying my best to behave according to the “rules” of christianity? Not really. All this means is that: I’ll do my best not to lie, cheat, or steal. I will not kill anyone except in self-defense. A lot goes into that one but since I could write a whole essay on it, we’ll just keep it brief for now. I’ll do my best to forgive myself and others for dumb behavior. This doesn’t mean I have to be a doormat but it helps to keep a perspective of “It’s in the past. Don’t let it happen again. Move on with life.”

I’ll be humble, modest, and patient. Basically, I realize the world does not revolve around me. And I’ll shut up and take a deep breath when I’m angry so that I don’t give myself an aneurysm or a heart attack. I’ll pray and trust God to supply my needs. I’ll believe that Jesus is my savior and he died on a cross for me. Let’s say for a second that you don’t believe in God/Jesus, or anything… what do I lose by praying and trusting in God or even believing that this man died for me? Nothing. If anything, I have gained an imaginary friend who loves me and makes me feel better about my life.  For those who do believe, just remember that “faith without works is dead”. Trust, believe, and get to work! 🙂

What about all the stuff about women? What about this “the man is the head of the household” business. Basically, I won’t act like a slut. American society doesn’t function like the ancient Israelites of the bible. Most women have to work and take care of the family. It doesn’t make sense for me to do everything that is written but I understand the basic idea. As for the man is the head of the household idea, I can live with that. As long as he realizes that as a wife, I’m the heart. The head needs the heart to pump oxygen and blood to the brain. The heart needs the head because the body won’t function without it. Husband and wife are a team. Each with their own strengths and weaknesses.

I could go on ad infinitum, but I’ll end here for now. My point is basically that I lose nothing when I decide to live by faith. If I’m wrong and God doesn’t exist, at least I know that I tried to be a good person. If I’m right, then I’ll get to go meet my invisible friend one day. And you can say that you don’t believe because God has never been there for you, but maybe He was.

Do you call your parents demanding that they fix your life? Do you call them angry and full of blame because someone you care about died, or left, or hurt you? Something to think about.

Leave a Reply

