Reason of Rhyme

image courtesy of http://www.garysaid.com

“To be a poet is a condition, not a profession.”  ~Robert Frost

 

Reason of Rhyme

 

I bleed ink

From the tips of my black tinted fingers.

Ink

In the red of my blood

Hiding deeper still

In the multi-color blend of my soul.

 

Writing because

My last thought before sleep

Is a phrase

A line

A bar

The last thing I feel

The warmth of a blanket

The softness of a favorite pillow

My lover’s heartbeat against my cheek

Providing a beat

For my symphony,

Serenading thoughts

While thoughts hold so tenderly to ideas

And moon and single street light

Illuminate the darkness where I lie.

 

I write because I have to.

copyright 2009- M. Aviles

Leave a Reply

